Home/ Best Smartwatches/ Best Smartwatches for Kids (2026)
Best Smartwatches

Best Smartwatches for Kids (2026)

These are the best smartwatches for kids in 2026. A parent should be able to see where the child is, and the child should be able to call home without carrying a phone.

Adult watches stay off this page. A Galaxy or an Apple Watch can do more than a child needs in a school day. These seven are built to stay narrower than that. Every one of them needs its own cellular plan. Read the current monthly fee before you buy.

Garmin Bounce 2 is first. The listing is the 43mm model, with live location, calling, and texting in the Garmin Jr app. That 43mm number is the case, the width of the watch body across the wrist. Garmin runs the plan.

TickTalk 6 is the stricter lock, with school mode, video calling, and no open web. TickTalk 5 is the older version of that idea, rated IP67. Gabb Watch 3e has no browser, and its map updates about every 15 minutes rather than live.

COSMO JrTrack 5 SE can quiet the watch when the child arrives at school, and parents can still turn apps on. myFirst Fone S4 uses class mode and a camera, and its contacts are listed as ages 13 and up. Fitbit Ace LTE is the movement-game watch. School Time can limit play, and the battery is about a day.

The original JrTrack 5 listing and the Xplora XGO 3 were unavailable, so they are not ranked. Confirm the plan, then match the watch to how tightly you want the wrist locked during a school day.

UH
Usha Hatcher Updated

Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we may earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. Rankings are independent of those commissions.

Quick Comparison

RankWatchBest ForRating
#1Garmin Bounce 2Best overall8.3/10View
#2TickTalk 6TickTalk OS8.3/10View
#3TickTalk 5TickTalk OS8/10View
#4Gabb Watch 3eGabb OS7.8/10View
#5COSMO JrTrack 5 SECOSMO OS8.1/10View
#6myFirst Fone S4FoneOS7.7/10View
#7Fitbit Ace LTEFitbit Ace7.6/10View

How we ranked these

Ranked for kid safety. Each watch needs GPS, a way to call home, parental controls, and a US listing that is actually available. These are kids watches, not adult smartwatches with a kids face. A cellular plan is separate from the watch price.

First-person wear notes and original photos appear only on watches marked as hands-on tested. Other picks are expert rankings from specs, design, and how the watch is meant to be used — not a fake two-week diary.

Best overallExpert ranking
01

Garmin Bounce 2

8.3

Live location and calls for a child, without moving the family phone plan.

Garmin Bounce 2

Product image from Amazon. Not a photo from our testing.

Swim-friendly (Garmin swim rating for Bounce line)Up to about 2 days connectedGarmin JrAMOLED color
  • Design8
  • Battery8.2
  • Fitness8
  • Calls8
  • Value7.8

Garmin Bounce 2 is the kids watch to start with when you want live location, calling, and texting on a plan Garmin runs. The listing on this card is the 43mm model. You still have to pay for that cellular line, or the safety tools do not work.

Bounce 2 is first because the parent job is clear. You can see where the child is, and the child can reach you, without handing over a phone. Skip it if you will not pay a separate kids line. The watch body is only half of the commitment.

The listing on this card is the 43mm Slate Gray model. That 43mm number is the case, the width of the watch body across the wrist, not the screen. The record does not list a weight, so do not assume it feels like a light adult watch.

Location, calling, voice messages, and texts need the LTE plan and a signal. LTE means the watch has its own cellular connection, so the parent's phone does not have to be in the same room. Garmin runs that subscription. You do not have to switch the family's phone carrier. An assistance control can send the live location and place a call to family contacts, once you set that up and the child is somewhere with coverage.

Garmin lists up to 2 days of battery, and says connected use cuts that. Built-in sports apps can track a run, a bike ride, or pool swimming. A pool sport on the app list is not a numbered water rating. Garmin does not publish an ATM or IP figure for the Bounce 2 in the details used here. Read the water line on the box before a pool day.

Safety and GPS

Parents check the child's location in the Garmin Jr app. The same app can alert you when the child enters or leaves a boundary you drew. That is the safety use. A building, a dead battery, or a spot with no coverage can still leave a gap. The watch is not a guarantee that you will see a perfect dot every minute.

Durability

Treat water with care until you read Garmin's own rating. Pool swimming in the sports list means the watch can record that activity. It does not, by itself, mean the case is a swim watch. Rain is a fair everyday test. A dive is not what this card is promising.

App lock-down

The lock sits in the parent app. This is not Wear OS, and there is no Play Store for a child to fill with random apps. Calls and texts go through Garmin Jr. You still decide which family contacts are in that circle.

Versus TickTalk 6, Bounce is the live location and activity watch. TickTalk 6 is the stricter communication lock, with video calling and a school mode you schedule.

Versus Gabb Watch 3e, Bounce is the one with live tracking. Gabb checks in about every 15 minutes and keeps the browser off.

Who should skip

Skip Bounce 2 if you will not pay the monthly LTE fee, if you need a published swim rating before anyone goes near a pool, or if you wanted a watch that states "no games" in the same plain words as TickTalk. Confirm Garmin's current plan fee before you buy. That number is not printed on this card.

Pros

  • Live location and boundary alerts in Garmin Jr
  • Calling, voice messages, and texts on the kids plan
  • 43mm case on this listing
  • Up to 2 days of battery before connected use cuts it
  • Garmin runs the LTE plan, separate from the family carrier

Cons

  • The safety features need an active subscription
  • No published ATM or IP rating
  • Connected use shortens the two-day claim
  • Not an adult app watch

Who it is for

  • Parents who want location and calls without a child phone
  • Families who would rather keep their current phone carrier

Skip if

  • You will not pay for a kids cellular plan
  • You need a numbered swim rating
  • You want a normal smartwatch app store

Garmin Bounce 2 FAQs

Does the Bounce 2 need a monthly plan?

Yes, for location, calling, and texting. Garmin runs that LTE subscription. Confirm the current fee before you buy. Without the plan, the safety tools on this page do not turn on.

What does 43mm mean?

It is the case size, the width of the watch body across the wrist. It is not the screen measurement. This card's listing is the 43mm model.

Can my child call me if my phone is at work?

That is the point of the cellular connection, when the plan is active and the watch has a signal. A Bluetooth-only adult watch cannot do the same job from another building.

Is it waterproof enough for the pool?

This page does not have an ATM or IP number for it. Pool swimming appears as a sport the GPS can track. Read Garmin's water line before you rely on that.

Expert ranking
02

TickTalk 6

8.3

School lock, live GPS, and video calls without an open web.

TickTalk 6

Product image from Amazon. Not a photo from our testing.

IP68Up to 135 hours standbyTickTalk OS1.6" AMOLED
  • Design8.2
  • Battery7.4
  • Fitness6.5
  • Calls8.4
  • Value8

TickTalk 6 is the kids watch for a parent who wants school mode, video calling, and a closed internet. It is built for ages 3 to 12. The 135 hour figure is standby, not a week of calls.

TickTalk 6 is second because the lock is specific. Parents can schedule school mode and focus, approve up to 100 contacts, and block unknown numbers. Buy it when the child should reach family and should not browse. Do not buy it because the standby line sounds like several days away from a charger.

The screen is 1.6 inches and AMOLED. TickTalk lists the whole body, including the strap attachments, at about 57 by 41 millimeters and 15.8 millimeters thick. That is not a round case size. There is no 43mm style number for the width across the wrist. Judge the fit from the band sizes on the listing, regular or large, not from an adult watch chart.

Calling, FaceTalk video, texts, and an SOS button need the TickTalk Wireless plan and a signal. The watch uses a built-in eSIM, so there is no SIM card to push in. GPS includes location history, and SmartPin is the maker's tool for places you visit often. Treat accuracy as a claim. A building can still blur the dot. A walkie-talkie feature can reach other approved TickTalk watches when there is coverage.

Water resistance is IP68. That covers rain and a dunk better than the older TickTalk 5 rating, and it is still not a reason to swim laps. Battery is listed up to 135 hours on standby. Calls, GPS, and a bright screen spend that down. Confirm the current monthly fee before you order.

Safety and GPS

The safety set is live location, location history, SOS, and the option for a 911 call in the US when the parent turns that on. None of that replaces an adult nearby. If the battery dies or the signal drops, the map stops updating.

Durability

IP68 is the water line, and the box includes a protective case. The maker also calls the band machine washable. That is useful after a muddy recess. Dry the watch before you trust the speaker on the next call.

App lock-down

School mode and focus are the class tools. The maker describes this watch as having no games, no social media, and no open internet. Parents approve contacts and can give other adults limited access in the app.

Versus TickTalk 5, you get the newer screen, IP68, and the walkie-talkie. The lock idea is the same family. Five is the older body.

Versus the Bounce 2, you give up Garmin's activity apps and the stated 43mm case. You keep video calling and a written school mode.

Who should skip

Skip TickTalk 6 if you will not pay the plan, if a toddler at age 3 is not ready to use a camera, or if you wanted Garmin sports on the same wrist. Also skip it if you read 135 hours as the time it will last during a school week of calls.

Pros

  • School mode, focus, and approved contacts
  • FaceTalk video, texts, and SOS
  • IP68
  • Built-in eSIM on TickTalk Wireless

Cons

  • Monthly plan required
  • Standby battery is easy to over-read
  • No round case width
  • A 3 year old may be too young for the tools

Who it is for

  • Parents who want school mode and video calls
  • Families who want the web kept off the wrist

Skip if

  • You will not pay a TickTalk plan
  • You need a published round case size
  • You want no camera on the watch

TickTalk 6 FAQs

Does TickTalk 6 need its own plan?

Yes. Calls, texts, video, and GPS use TickTalk Wireless. Confirm the current monthly fee. The watch price is not the whole cost.

Is 135 hours a full week of use?

No. That figure is standby. Calls, GPS, and the screen reduce it.

Can it stay quiet during class?

The listing includes school mode and focus. Parents set when the watch locks down. SOS can still matter in an emergency, so read how your setup treats that button.

How is it different from TickTalk 5?

Six is the newer watch, with a 1.6 inch AMOLED screen, IP68, and video calling called FaceTalk. Five is IP67 and does not publish a case size. Both are kids watches with a TickTalk plan.

Expert ranking
03

TickTalk 5

8.0

Approved contacts, no open web, and GPS, on TickTalk's own plan.

TickTalk 5

Product image from Amazon. Not a photo from our testing.

IP67Up to ~2 days typical / long standby claimsTickTalk OSColor touchscreen
  • Design7.4
  • Battery7.2
  • Fitness6.4
  • Calls8
  • Value8

TickTalk 5 is the kids watch for a parent who wants calls, texts, and GPS with a hard lock on the rest of the internet. The listing says ages 3 to 12. A toddler at the bottom of that range may still be too young for the calling tools.

TickTalk 5 is second because the lock-down is the product. Buy it when you want a child to reach family and you do not want a tiny phone. Do not buy it for swimming, and do not buy it if you need a case size in millimeters before you know it will fit.

The listing does not publish a case width. Do not borrow a 40mm figure from an adult watch and pretend it is this one. TickTalk describes the 2024 version as smaller and tougher. That is the maker's design line, not a measurement you can check against a wrist.

Parents approve contacts and can block unknown numbers. The listing says there is no social media, no internet, and no games. Calling, texts, and an SOS alert are the communication tools. GPS is sold as SmartPin, including indoors and at school. Treat the accuracy sentence as TickTalk's claim. Walls and a weak signal can still blur a location.

Water resistance is IP67. The listing also calls it shockproof and dustproof. IP67 is for rain, dust, and a splash, not for swimming laps. TickTalk lists up to about two days in typical use, plus a longer standby claim. Do not plan a week of calls around the standby line. A TickTalk wireless plan is required. Read the current monthly fee on their page before you order.

Safety and GPS

The safety tools are location, SOS, and a contact list you control. TickTalk says SmartPin is meant to work indoors and at school, not only on a sidewalk. Use it as a check-in. Do not treat a single dot as proof of exactly which classroom a child is in.

Durability

IP67, plus the shock and dust lines, is the durability story on the listing. The maker also mentions a ScreenSafe design meant to cut down on screen damage. That is a claim about the glass, not a drop test from this page. Skip the pool. Rinse off sand and dry the watch after a wet recess instead.

App lock-down

This is a closed kids watch. No social media, no internet, and no games, according to the listing. Unknown callers can be blocked. Different adults on the parent app can be given different permissions.

Versus TickTalk 6, this is the older body. Six adds a 1.6 inch screen, IP68, and FaceTalk video. The contact lock is the same idea.

Versus the Bounce 2, you give up a stated 43mm case and Garmin's two-day line. You keep a plainer rule about what the child cannot open.

Who should skip

Skip TickTalk 5 if the child needs a swim watch, if you want Garmin's activity apps, or if you will not pay TickTalk's plan. Also skip it for a very young toddler if the only reason the box fits is the age range of 3 to 12. The calling tools still need a child who can use them.

Pros

  • Parents approve every contact
  • No social media, internet, or games on the listing
  • GPS with an SOS alert
  • IP67 plus shock and dust claims
  • Made for ages 3 to 12

Cons

  • TickTalk wireless plan required
  • IP67 is not a swim rating
  • No case size in millimeters
  • Standby battery claims are easy to over-read

Who it is for

  • Parents who want the web and games kept off the wrist
  • Families who will use approved contacts only

Skip if

  • You need a swim rating
  • You will not pay a monthly kids plan
  • You need a published case size before you buy

TickTalk 5 FAQs

Does TickTalk 5 need its own plan?

Yes. Calls, texts, and GPS use TickTalk's wireless plan. Confirm the current monthly fee before you buy. The watch price is not the whole cost.

Can parents choose who the child calls?

Yes. The listing says parents approve contacts and can block unknown numbers. That lock is the reason this watch is on the page.

Is IP67 enough for swimming?

No. It is a splash and dust rating. Rain is in range. A pool session is a reason to pick a different watch, or to leave this one off.

What age is it for?

The listing says ages 3 to 12. The bottom of that range is still a toddler. Decide from the child you have, not only from the box.

Expert ranking
04

Gabb Watch 3e

7.8

A closed kids phone with safe zones, and a slower map than Bounce.

Gabb Watch 3e

Product image from Amazon. Not a photo from our testing.

IP68Day count not stated on the listingGabb OSColor touchscreen, Gorilla Glass 3
  • Design7.6
  • Battery6.8
  • Fitness6.6
  • Calls7.8
  • Value7.6

Gabb Watch 3e is the kids watch for a parent who wants no browser and no social apps. Location is the limit. Gabb says the watch checks in about every 15 minutes, and that is not live tracking.

Watch 3e belongs on this page because the child gets a number, calls, and texts, and does not get the web. Buy it when that closed setup is the whole request. Do not buy it if you need a dot that moves every few seconds on the way home from school.

The listing does not give a case width in millimeters. The screen sits under Gorilla Glass 3. There is no camera and no video calling. Ages on the listing start at 5. A five year old can wear it and still be too young to manage calls. Decide from the child, not only from the box.

Calls and texts go to parent-approved contacts, up to 100 on the current listing. The watch has its own number, and the plan is Gabb's, for the US. An SOS press alerts a parent contact. Safe Zones can tell you when the child enters or leaves a place you marked. Focus Time is the quiet setting. The listing also says you can ask for a location update on demand.

The automatic map is the part to read twice. Gabb's own note says location updates about every 15 minutes and that this is not a real-time tracking service. Some lines on the same page say real time. Use the 15 minute note. Water resistance is IP68. The listing does not publish a battery day count. Wireless charging is included. Confirm the activation fee and the monthly plan before you buy.

Safety and GPS

Safety here is an SOS button, safe zones, and a location check about every quarter hour, plus an update you can request. That can tell you a child reached school or left it. It is a weak tool for a child who is moving block by block. Bounce 2 is the live location watch on this page.

Durability

IP68 and Gorilla Glass 3 are the toughness lines on the listing. IP68 is for rain, dust, and a short dunk. It is not a pool training watch. Rinse off dirt and dry it before the next call.

App lock-down

Gabb OS has no browser, no social apps, and no app store. That is the strictest closed setup on this list. Focus Time and safe zones are managed in the MyGabb app. A fitness and chore layer can reward movement. It is not an open game store.

Versus TickTalk 6, you give up video calling and a clearer live GPS story. You keep a watch that cannot open the web.

Versus the JrTrack 5 SE, you give up optional kid apps and Cosmo's school arrival tool. You keep a system that starts with those apps unavailable.

Who should skip

Skip Watch 3e if you need live tracking, if you want to see the child's face on a call, or if you will not use a Gabb plan. Also skip it outside the US. The listing says the service is US only.

Pros

  • No browser and no social apps
  • Safe Zones, Focus Time, and SOS
  • Parent-approved contacts and its own number
  • IP68 and Gorilla Glass 3

Cons

  • Location is about every 15 minutes unless you request an update
  • No camera and no video calling
  • Plan and activation fee required
  • No case size in millimeters

Who it is for

  • Parents who want the internet kept off the wrist
  • Families who can live with a 15 minute location check

Skip if

  • You need a live moving dot
  • You will not pay a Gabb plan
  • You need video calls

Gabb Watch 3e FAQs

Is Gabb GPS live?

Gabb says the watch checks in about every 15 minutes and that this is not a real-time tracking service. You can request an update. Bounce 2 is the live location pick on this page.

Can my child open a browser?

No. The listing says there is no internet browser and no social apps. Calls and texts stay with contacts you approve.

Does it need a plan?

Yes. The listing includes an activation fee and a monthly Gabb plan. Confirm both current numbers before you buy.

What age is it for?

The listing says ages 5 and up. That is the box. A young child may still need you to handle the calls.

Expert ranking
05

COSMO JrTrack 5 SE

8.1

School arrival limits, live GPS, and parent-approved contacts on Cosmo's network.

COSMO JrTrack 5 SE

Product image from Amazon. Not a photo from our testing.

IP68 up to 1.5 meters, not for swimmingDay count not stated on the listingCOSMO OSColor touchscreen
  • Design7.8
  • Battery7
  • Fitness6.8
  • Calls8
  • Value8

COSMO JrTrack 5 SE is the kids watch for a parent who wants the watch to quiet itself at school and still allow a few apps later. The lock is only as tight as you set it. The original JrTrack 5 listing was unavailable, so this card is the SE.

JrTrack 5 SE is here because School-Fi is a real school tool, not a slogan buried in a spec sheet. When you turn it on, Cosmo says the watch can tell that the child has arrived at school and then limit distractions, while safety and calling stay available. Buy it for that, for ages 6 and up. Do not buy it if you wanted a watch that cannot have apps even when a parent gets tempted.

The listing does not publish a case width in millimeters. Do not borrow a number from an adult watch. Calling and texting use Cosmo Mobile, which is an eSIM on Cosmo's network. It is not your family's phone carrier, and it is not a SIM you move over from another watch. Parent-approved contacts are the only people who should get through. Unknown callers are blocked.

Location is the stronger half of the safety story. The parent app can show the current place, safe zone alerts, and location history. Active Tracking is the mode for faster updates, which Cosmo describes as every few seconds. Use that when you are watching a pickup. Do not leave it on all day and expect the battery story to stay generous. The listing does not give a day count. SOS and an optional 911 call are part of SafeCore.

Water resistance is IP68, up to 1.5 meters. Cosmo says that covers splashes and a dunk, and says to take the watch off for swimming or a bath. There is no live two-way video call on this model. Photos, voice notes, and video messages are the richer messages, and only with people you approved. Optional kid-safe apps, including Spotify if you already pay for that family plan, are a parent choice. Time limits exist. If you turn the apps on, you own the screen time that follows.

Safety and GPS

Safe zones, SOS, and a location chip are why it ranks above a watch that only checks in every 15 minutes. Active Tracking is for a short window, not for a constant trail. Walls and a weak signal can still leave a gap.

Durability

IP68 to 1.5 meters is the water line, and swimming is excluded by Cosmo's own answer. Rain and a splash are in range. A pool session is a reason to take it off. Dry it before the next call.

App lock-down

School-Fi is the arrival lock. Focus tools and contact approval are the rest. The watch can also grow a library of kid-safe apps. That is useful at 11 and risky at 7 if nobody is watching the time limits.

Versus Gabb Watch 3e, Cosmo can be more open. Gabb starts with no browser and a slower map. Cosmo starts with a faster location story and a door you can open.

Versus TickTalk 6, you give up a stated no-games design. You keep School-Fi, which keys off the school location instead of only a clock.

Who should skip

Skip the SE if you want zero apps forever, if you will not join Cosmo Mobile, or if the child is under 6. Also skip the original JrTrack 5 listing if it is the one in the cart. This card is the SE, which was the model actually in stock.

Pros

  • School-Fi limits distractions at the school location
  • Live location, safe zones, and SOS
  • Parent-approved contacts only
  • IP68, with swimming called out as a no

Cons

  • Optional apps mean the lock depends on the parent
  • Cosmo Mobile plan required
  • No case size in millimeters
  • No day-count battery line on the listing

Who it is for

  • Parents who want a school arrival lock
  • Families who may add a few apps later and will set time limits

Skip if

  • You want no apps available at all
  • You will not use Cosmo's network
  • The child is younger than 6

COSMO JrTrack 5 SE FAQs

What is School-Fi?

Cosmo's tool for limiting distractions when the child arrives at school, while safety and calling stay available. You still have to turn it on and check that the school location is right.

Does it work on my phone carrier?

No. The listing says JrTrack uses Cosmo Mobile, not another carrier. Confirm the current plan fee before you buy.

Can it go in the pool?

Cosmo says no. IP68 up to 1.5 meters is for splashes and a dunk. Take it off for swimming or a bath.

Is this the same as JrTrack 5?

No. This card is the SE, with School-Fi. The original JrTrack 5 listing was unavailable, so it is not ranked.

Expert ranking
06

myFirst Fone S4

7.7

School silence with SOS left on, plus a sharper GPS claim and video calls.

myFirst Fone S4

Product image from Amazon. Not a photo from our testing.

IP68 on the title, IPX8 in one feature line, described as splashes and handwashingDay count not stated on the listingFoneOS1.65" AMOLED
  • Design7.8
  • Battery6.8
  • Fitness6.4
  • Calls7.6
  • Value7.4

myFirst Fone S4 is the kids watch for class mode, a camera, and dual-frequency GPS. Approved contacts on the listing are 13 and older, so this is not a way for classmates to text each other. A plan is required, and the water lines on the page do not match.

Fone S4 sits here for families who want a camera and a class lock, and who will read the contact rule before they buy. The child does not get a normal phone number. Parents and approved people reach the watch through the myFirst Circle app. Buy it for that closed circle. Do not buy it so a nine year old can message other nine year olds.

The screen is 1.65 inches and AMOLED. The listing calls the body 13.5 millimeters thick. That number is how tall the watch stands off the wrist, not the width across it. There is no round case size in the listing. A 5 megapixel camera handles selfies and video calls. Dual-frequency GPS, using more than one satellite band, is the location claim. It should help in a messy sky. It does not promise a perfect indoor dot.

Class mode is the school tool. It silences the watch during school hours and leaves SOS working. Parents block unknown callers and third-party apps. An SOS press can send an alert and a 30 second clip of nearby sound. That is useful and also something to explain to the child, because the watch is listening for that half minute. Calling and location need the subscription and LTE, and the listing limits this version to the United States, Canada, and Mexico.

The water wording is messy. The title says IP68. One feature line says IPX8 and describes splashes, rain, and handwashing. Use the plain sentence. Do not treat it as a swim watch until myFirst states that in one place. The listing does not give a battery day count. Confirm the plan fee before you pay.

Safety and GPS

Dual-frequency GPS, safe contacts, and SOS with a short audio clip are the safety set. Class mode is supposed to keep SOS available when the rest is quiet. Test that once at home before you trust it on a Monday.

Durability

Until the water lines agree, treat rain and handwashing as the sure use. A pool is a skip. The 13.5 millimeter figure is thickness. It says the body is slim. It does not tell you whether the face is wide on a small wrist.

App lock-down

No third-party apps, and contacts are parent managed. The hard limit is age. The listing says up to 20 approved contacts, ages 13 and up. Class mode is a schedule, which is different from Cosmo's arrival tool.

Versus the JrTrack 5 SE, you give up School-Fi and Cosmo's optional app library. You keep a camera and a dual-frequency GPS claim.

Versus the Ace LTE, you give up movement games. You keep a class mode that is about silence, not about pausing a game.

Who should skip

Skip Fone S4 if other children need to be contacts, if you need one clear swim rating, or if you will not pay the myFirst plan. Also skip it for travel outside North America unless you have checked that the eSIM works there.

Pros

  • Class mode with SOS left on
  • Dual-frequency GPS and a 30 second SOS clip
  • Video calls and a 5 megapixel camera
  • No third-party apps

Cons

  • Contacts on the listing are 13 and older
  • Water rating is written two ways
  • Subscription required
  • No case width in millimeters

Who it is for

  • Parents who want class silence and a camera
  • Families staying in the US, Canada, or Mexico

Skip if

  • You need kids texting other kids
  • You need a single clear swim rating
  • You will not pay a myFirst plan

myFirst Fone S4 FAQs

Can classmates text this watch?

Not on the listing's contact rule. Approved contacts are 13 and older, and they use the myFirst Circle app. The watch does not get a normal phone number.

What does class mode do?

It silences the watch in school hours and is meant to leave SOS on. Try it once before you rely on it.

Is it waterproof?

The page says both IP68 and IPX8, and the plain description is splashes, rain, and handwashing. Do not take it swimming on that wording.

What is the 13.5 millimeter number?

Thickness, how tall the body stands off the wrist. It is not the case width across the wrist.

Expert ranking
07

Fitbit Ace LTE

7.6

GPS and calls, with movement games and a school-day limit on play.

Fitbit Ace LTE

Product image from Amazon. Not a photo from our testing.

Water resistant to 50 meters16+ hoursFitbit AceColor touchscreen, Gorilla Glass 3
  • Design8
  • Battery6.2
  • Fitness8.2
  • Calls7.4
  • Value7.2

Fitbit Ace LTE is the kids watch for a child who will actually move if the watch makes a game of it. You give up a closed, no-games setup, and you give up multi-day battery. School Time can limit play and still leave a way to call.

Ace LTE is last on purpose. The safety tools are real, and the games are also real. Buy it when the child already likes a Fitbit and you will use School Time during class. Do not buy it if the rule in your house is no games on the wrist at all.

The listing does not give a case width in millimeters. The glass is Gorilla Glass 3, and a bumper case comes in the box. Calls and messages need the Fitbit Ace app, a Google account, and the Ace Pass data plan. The watch does not hand the child a normal phone number. Contacts you add are listed as ages 13 and up, so this is for adults and older siblings in the family group, not for a group chat of classmates.

GPS and LTE are how you see location and how calls work when your phone is in another building. School Time can limit gameplay during the day and still let the child get in touch. Kids on this watch cannot message each other, according to the listing. Family chat is for the household group. That is a narrower lock than TickTalk, and it is not the same thing as removing games.

Battery is 16 hours or a bit more, and a short charge can add hours. Plan on the charger most nights. Fitbit lists water resistance to 50 meters. That is a swim-level maker rating. It is still a kids watch, so the pool is the use, not a dive. Tap to pay can work with a supported kids debit card if you set that up. Skip it if you do not want money on the wrist.

Safety and GPS

Location sharing needs Ace Pass and a signal. You can see where the watch is, and the child can call an approved contact. A dead battery ends that. Sixteen hours means a forgotten charger is a missed pickup, not a small annoyance.

Durability

Gorilla Glass 3 and the bumper are the scratch story. The 50 meter line is Fitbit's water rating. Rinse it after the pool and dry it before a call. The listing does not describe it as a dive watch.

App lock-down

School Time is the class control. It limits games. It does not remove them. The arcade is movement based, which is the reason some families accept it. There is no open third-party app store in the adult Wear OS sense, and there is also no "no games" promise.

Versus TickTalk 6, Ace is the play watch and TickTalk is the closed watch. Pick Ace if movement is the fight you are trying to win. Pick TickTalk if the fight is the internet.

Versus the Bounce 2, Ace asks for a charge every night and adds games. Bounce lasts longer on its stated line and stays inside Garmin Jr.

Who should skip

Skip Ace LTE if you want zero games, if you will not charge it nightly, or if you need classmates on the contact list. The listing keeps those contacts at 13 and older. Also skip it if you will not make a Google account for the family setup.

Pros

  • GPS and LTE calls to approved contacts
  • School Time can limit games during class
  • Water resistance listed to 50 meters
  • Movement games for a child who likes that push

Cons

  • Games are part of the product
  • About 16 hours of battery
  • Contacts on the listing are 13 and older
  • Ace Pass and a Google account are required

Who it is for

  • Families who already like Fitbit and will use School Time
  • Kids who move more when the watch makes it a game

Skip if

  • You want no games
  • You will not charge most nights
  • You need other children as contacts

Fitbit Ace LTE FAQs

Does the Ace LTE need a plan?

Yes. Calling, messaging, and location use Fitbit Ace Pass. A Google account and the Fitbit Ace app are also required. Confirm the current plan fee.

Can it stay quiet at school?

School Time can limit gameplay during the day and still leave a way to get in touch. It does not delete the games.

Who can the child call?

Approved contacts, and the listing says those contacts are 13 and older. This is not a watch for texting a class group.

How long does the battery last?

Fitbit lists 16 hours or more. A half hour of charging is claimed to add about 11 hours. Do not expect a weekend away from the cable.

What to look for

Plan for a monthly cellular fee

Every watch on this page needs its own line. Bounce 2 uses Garmin. TickTalk 5 and TickTalk 6 use TickTalk Wireless. Gabb, Cosmo, Fitbit Ace, and myFirst each use their own plan. Read the current monthly fee, and any activation fee, before you buy. The watch price is only half the cost.

Live location is not the same on every watch

Bounce 2, TickTalk, the JrTrack 5 SE, the Fone S4, and the Ace LTE are sold as live location watches. Gabb Watch 3e is the exception. Gabb says the map updates about every 15 minutes and that this is not real-time tracking. You can request an extra update. If a moving dot is the reason you are here, do not start with Gabb.

What lock-down should mean

A kids watch should limit who the child can contact. TickTalk says there is no social media, no internet, and no games. Gabb has no browser. Cosmo can quiet the watch when the child arrives at school, and parents can also turn apps on. myFirst uses class mode and keeps contacts at ages 13 and up. Ace LTE uses School Time to limit games, and the games stay on the watch.

Water is not one rating

TickTalk 6 and Gabb are IP68. TickTalk 5 is IP67, which is rain and a splash. Cosmo is IP68 up to 1.5 meters and says to take it off for swimming. Bounce 2 does not publish an ATM or IP number here. Ace LTE lists 50 meters. The Fone S4 page says both IP68 and IPX8. Read the line on the watch you actually buy.

Frequently asked questions

Do kids smartwatches need a monthly plan?
Yes, for every watch on this page. Location and calls use a cellular plan. Confirm the current fee on the brand page before you order.
What does 43mm mean on the Bounce 2?
It is the case size, the width of the watch body across the wrist. The other watches on this page do not publish a round case width. TickTalk 6 lists the full body including the strap attachments, and the Fone S4 lists thickness.
Why is the original JrTrack 5 not ranked?
That US listing was unavailable. The JrTrack 5 SE was in stock, and it is the Cosmo watch on this page.
Is Gabb GPS live?
No. Gabb says updates land about every 15 minutes, with an on-demand check if you ask for one. Bounce 2 is the live location pick.
Which watch has no games?
TickTalk 5 and TickTalk 6 are described as having no games and no open web. Gabb has no browser. Ace LTE is the one that keeps movement games and limits them with School Time.
UH

Written by Usha Hatcher

Rankings are expert lists from specs and design. A hands on badge appears only when we actually wore the watch.

Related guides

Get pick alerts before prices drop

One email a week. New guides and ranking changes, no fluff.